Tobs lose series opener to Holly Springs 12-3

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing to The Wilson Times.

HOLLY SPRINGS — After having Saturday’s Coastal Plain League summer collegiate baseball game against the Holly Springs Salamanders rained out in Fleming Stadium, the Wilson Tobs were able to take the field Sunday amid dry conditions in Holly Springs.

The Tobs might have wished it rained again.

The Salamanders racked up 13 hits en route to a 12-3 victory in what amounts to the first game of a three-game series. The Tobs, now 4-12 and all alone in last place in the East Division, will host Holly Springs for a doubleheader Monday in Fleming Stadium. The first of the two seven-inning games will start at 6 p.m.

The Salamanders (5-10) scored twice in the first inning and added four more in the second off Tobs starting pitcher Cody Smith, who dropped to 0-3 on the season.

Wilson got on the scoreboard with an unearned run in the top of the third before the hosts tacked on a run in each of the bottom of the fourth and fifth innings.

Chad Frazier cracked a two-run home run in the top of the seventh for Wilson but the Salamanders responded with four runs in the bottom of the inning for the final margin.

Kyle Butler had two of Wilson’s five hits. Starter Jake Lewis worked six innings to notch his first win for the Salamanders.


The Tobs dropped a 10-2 outcome at Fayetteville on Friday night.

Center fielder Roberto Rivera paced the Tobs, batting 1 for 2, drawing two walks and scoring both runs.

Starting Wilson pitcher Sam Luchansky took the loss.

Fayetteville pitcher Nick Ernst blanked the Tobs on four hits through seven inning and struck out 11 in notching his first win against one loss.

The SwampDogs got an RBI from Jayson Newman in the bottom of the first inning, a two-run double from Austin Edgette in the second and Alex Brait’s RBi produced a 4-0 lead.

Fayetteville took command with four runs in the sixth inning on RBIs from Andrew Henrickson, Matt Morrow, Brait and Newman.